05 Jan 2016

05 Jan 2016

Hi everyone!

Happy Happy New Year!!!!!!!

I know I keep writing after really long intervals, but hopefully the new year should ring in a change into that bad habit of mine.

Having said that, let me start with something very interesting I observed today. I am quite certain all of you would have observed this about yourselves at some time or the other too.

It’s to do with changing habits, this couldn’t have come at a better time for me than the new year.

What happened was, I am just back from a long vacation which I spent at my relative’s place. On my return I got thoroughly convinced that, in spite of fidgeting with all the taps and pipelines, my geyser had missed me so much, it decided to give up on me, just when I needed it the most, on a chilly morning at 0530h. No matter what I tried the shower stayed adamant and spouted only freezing cold water. Finally, I gave up and shivered myself clean, cursing the damn geyser all through my ordeal.

The next day promised to be the same ‘coz the plumber hadn’t found the time from his busy schedule, to come visit me and fix the cursed geyser. Just when I was gearing myself up mentally to face the frigid waters once again, I accidentally chanced upon some warm water and wondered which one among the pantheon of Gods had answered my prayers. Well, miracles rarely happen and soon reality struck, I realised that I had been fidgeting with the wrong side of the taps all along.

While the hot water taps are on the right at my place, I had completely forgotten so, ‘coz at my relative’s place they were on the left. I had gotten so used to that, in a matter of days, that I convinced myself that it wasn’t I that was wrong but my geyser. Ended up having a good laugh at my own foolishness (and a refreshing, warm water bath) and thanked the plumber for not turning up, or else I would end up becoming a farcical anecdote at the next Plumber’s Collective.

Now, coming to the actual reason why I mention such a silly, little incident. This episode, although funny, actually got me thinking as to how quickly and thoroughly the human mind can be altered into changing a habit so drastically it wouldn’t even consider using alternatives. All it takes for a habit to change is a few days doing something that you’re unaccustomed to until you have registered the new procedure as the actual one and replaced it for the old one in your head. And the best part is, if you keep at it, you don’t even have to do it consciously anymore, your mind just redraws the pattern automatically.

If you think about it, you will realise, we have all experienced similar phenomenon at some point in time or another. It could be small things like the side of the bed you sleep on, the side on which the indicators are placed in your car vis-a-vis your friend’s car, the door that you are used to opening only outside-in or a few bigger things in life like going on a health retreat and realising that you did make it out alive and in good shape without a cigarette or your daily peg which you had convinced yourself you simply couldn’t live without. Sometimes, even a partner, whose loss affects us so greatly, we think we will never get back on our feet again, but eventually we do and do we must for there is nothing more malleable and at the same time more formidable than the human mind.

So, Happy New Year once again and lets  all resolve to “tap” the power embedded in our subconscious minds, to change a few habits, this new year, for the better of course!!!!!!!!

 

3 thoughts on “05 Jan 2016

Leave a Reply

